1540 E. Maryland Ave., Suite 100B
Phoenix, AZ 85014

The Molina Law Group PLLC

Call For Your 30 Min Case Evaluation

(602) 718-1249

The Molina Law Group PLLC

Getting Your License Back After Suspension/Revocation

  • Published: September 28, 2018
Getting Your License Back After Suspension/Revocation

For many individuals, having their driver’s license suspended or revoked following a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction is one of the worst penalties they face. Even though there may be public transportation options, rideshare options, car-pooling, or other methods of traveling, most people in Arizona rely on their vehicles to get them from place to place. The loss of driving privileges can be devastating and result in extreme personal hardship. There is a process that an individual can go through to get their driver’s license reinstated following a DUI suspension or revocation.


It is important to understand the difference between suspension and revocation of your driving privileges. Suspension is the temporary removal of the privilege of driving. Suspension can result after review of a person’s driving record and even a first offense DUI. To reinstate a suspended license, the following must be done:

  • Satisfaction of court costs, fees, and fines.
  • The ending of the suspension period enacted by the MVD.
  • Visiting an Arizona Department of Motor Vehicle location and bringing the required documents such as court clearance documents and proof of future financial responsibility for at least three years from an insurance company.
  • Payment of the reinstatement fee.


Revocation is the termination of an individual’s privilege of driving. Revocation results from the conviction of driving offenses, like a DUI. Depending on the charge and circumstances surrounding the revocation, there will be a period of time before an individual can attempt to get the license reinstated. The process for reinstating a license is as follows:

  • Completion of an investigation packet. This can only be done after the period of revocation has ended. (1-3 years) The individual seeking the license reinstatement must complete an investigation packet that includes eligibility requirements, court compliance statements, substance abuse evaluation (if applicable), and a criminal restitution certificate. The investigation packet must be turned in to determine eligibility to reinstate.
  • If you are found to be eligible to reinstate, a Permission to Reapply Notice will be sent to you.
  • Alcohol and drug related offenses require Proof of Financial Responsibility for at least three years from an insurance provider.
  • The proof and notice must be brought to the Motor Vehicle Division or approved third party.
  • A $20 reinstatement fee must be paid, and an application fee must be paid.
  • Any requirement of an ignition interlock system being installed before reinstatement must be done before the reinstatement. Proof of installation must be provided.

As you can see, the process of getting your license back after being suspended or revoked can be complicated and confusing. There are many steps that must be taken and in the correct order. The DUI attorneys at the Molina Law Group are here to help you. Contact us today to schedule your free consultation. We know how important the ability to drive is around Phoenix and that’s why we fight to ensure that the MVD consequences to our clients are as minimal as possible.

Edwin A. Molina III

The Molina Law Group has expertise in two
areas of law; Criminal Defense and Personal
Injury - Call Us Now - (602) 718-1249