1540 E. Maryland Ave., Suite 100B
Phoenix, AZ 85014

The Molina Law Group PLLC

Call For Your 30 Min Case Evaluation

(602) 718-1249

The Molina Law Group PLLC

Second Offense DUI In Arizona

  • Published: September 21, 2018
Second Offense DUI In Arizona

Arizona is quick to enforce laws surrounding driving under the influence (DUI). Being charged and convicted of a DUI in Arizona can be costly, and not just in terms of money. DUI convictions carry the potential for jail time, fines, substance abuse classes, probation, license suspension, and many other penalties a judge may see fit to impose. Penalties for a first-time offender can be harsh, so it should come as no surprise that a second offense DUI in Arizona has the potential to result in a devastating sentence.

Second Offense Misdemeanor DUI

There is no law that makes a second offense DUI strictly a misdemeanor or a felony charge. The charge depends on the circumstances surrounding the offense. A misdemeanor second offense DUI has enhanced sentencing consequences attached to it. The penalties for a second offense DUI charge in Arizona are as follows:

  • A minimum of 90 days in jail. There is the potential for some of the days, up to 60 of them, to be suspended
  • $2,500 in jail fees
  • $50 for alcohol screening
  • $585 for 35 alcohol classes
  • Up for $3,500 in various fines and charges
  • If an ignition interlock system is required in the vehicle, the cost is $1,200 per year
  • Car insurance premium increases that will vary depending on your insurance carrier and your past driving record.

Third Offense Felony DUI Charge

Listed above are the penalties for a misdemeanor second offense DUI charge. Felony charges can result from multiple DUI convictions. For example, in Arizona, the third or subsequent offense that occurs within 84 months of the first two will result in a Class 4 felony. This means that there will be increased penalties and sentencing. The potential consequences for a felony DUI conviction are:

  • Up to three years and nine months in prison;
  • Revocation of your license for three years;
  • Probation for up to ten years with a mandatory four months in prison;
  • Completing alcohol and/or drug screening and paying the costs associated;
  • Completing alcohol and/or drug treatment and education and paying the costs associated;
  • If an ignition interlock system is required, you will be paying for that out of your own pocket; and
  • Multiple fines and fees and the potential for paying for the cost of incarceration (multiple tens of thousands of dollars).

The Importance of an Attorney

The first criminal charge you are facing can be tough to deal with. You are headed into a land of uncertainty and confusion. It does not get any easier with subsequent charges. Even though you have been through the court system and have an idea of the process, the additional penalties associated with multiple convictions/charges are scary. With the increased sentencing potential, it is imperative to hire an attorney to provide an aggressive and effective defense. While all cases are different, the experience and knowledge an attorney can bring to your defense is invaluable. The dedicated DUI attorneys at the Molina Law Group are here to defend you. We want you to get the best possible outcome given the circumstances of your case and will not rest until we do. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation with an experience attorney.

Edwin A. Molina III

The Molina Law Group has expertise in two
areas of law; Criminal Defense and Personal
Injury - Call Us Now - (602) 718-1249